Workers Pledge in Time of War

Workers Pledge in Time of War.
(from “At Grips With War” by Guy Aldred)
I refuse to kill any child’s father.
I refuse to slay any mother’s son.
I refuse to plunge the bayonet into the breast of any
                woman’s brother, lover, or mate.
I refuse to murder and deem the slaughter glory.
I refuse to butcher with the hands that were intended to
                serve and to caress.
I refuse to soak the earth with blood and blind my reason
                with obedience.
I refuse to assassinate another man and then hide my
                 stained fists in the folds of a bloodstained flag.
I refuse to be flattered, cajoled, or driven into hell’s
                nightmare by a class of well-fed snobs, crooks
                and cowards who despise my class socially, rob
                my class economically, and betray and oppress it
                politically. Let militarism do its worst, I refuse
                to serve, I decline to kill.
File:1917 - Execution à Verdun lors des mutineries.jpg
Leave a Reply

